How to interpret a royalty interest based on reservation language

I'm new to the web site. Can anyone assist with the interpretation of the following reservation language in a Tarrant County, Texas (Barnett Shale), deed? In this case the Seller only owned 50% of the minerals at the time of this conveyance:

"(EXPRESSLY EXCEPTING AND RESERVING to the SELLER, and its successors and assigns, however, all oil, gas and mineral interests in, to and under said PROPERTY and one-half (1/2) of the usual one-eighth (1/8) royalty interest thereunder)"

It appears clear to me that the "buyer" does not acquire any minerals the conveyance. Half of the minerals and associated royalties have previously been reserved by a prior owner. How much royalty does the seller and buyer own. To further confuse (me, at least), I think the seller entered into a 3/16's lease afterwards. (I just assume this because all the other leases in the unit are 3/16ths, but there is only a Lease Memo filed of record, so its just a guess).

The two options I see are that either the seller retains 1/16 and the buyer retains the other 2 of the 3/16ths, or the Seller retains 1/16 of the 3/16ths and the buyer retains 15/16ths of the 3/16ths royalty. But then its not the "usual 1/8th" lease, either. Interesting stuff, but I'm confused. Thanks for any assistance.

Larry,

Assuming you are the buyer, contact the seller and ask for an amendment to the deed that strikes the words "or the usual one-eighth (1/8)". Your lawyer can help you with the form of the deed amendment. I recommend that you do it sooner rather than later. A good Division Order Attorney will require an agreement if production is attained later anyway. You can beat them to the punch and have cleaned it up at nominal cost. If production in attained first and a large value can be placed on the dispute, everyone will suffer except trial lawyers. Perhaps you can get the lawyer who drafted the deed to fix the ambiguity.