How to find out Net Mineral Acres

Hi,

I'd like to know, if I was to go to the courthouse in the county of my mineral acres, would the documents show the exact net minerals owned on each tract, or does that have to be done by a lawyer to get a straight answer?

On my Mineral Warranty Deed, it only shows the land description of Township, Range, Sections and gross acres, and exact location within the section.

Why wouldn't mt Mineral Warranty Deed show the net acreage?

Over the years, we've held leases every 5 years with different companies, and we've noticed that from lease to lease, the net acreage varies.

I have a subscription to the NDRIN, but the document of my Mineral Warranty Deed is long before they posted documents. Mostly the documents I've found on NDRIN are from 2000 to current, but I've noticed a few documents listed prior to 2000, just not any of mine.

I really want to know the correct amount now, prior to signing onto a new lease, so that if a well is drilled, I will have correct compensation; also, if there isn't a well, for all future leasing years to come.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help with answers.

Snues:

I would think that the documents at the County Clerks office would provide the correct information regarding Net Minerals owned by an individual. We have leased the same acreage to two different companies and each of them indicated the same amount of net mineral acreage. I have never researched these records myself but I maintain the original transfer of records as was recorded in the early 2000's.

Thanks Charles for the information.

My aunt has an original transfer of records, and ours is transferred from my mom; to 3 children. So us 3 share the portion that was mom's. However, ours is different from our aunt and is supposed to be the same, (of course multiplying each of ours, times 3, to get the total).

We've never really looked into it in previous leasing, but have realized the importance of it now.