How to determine the value of mineral rights when inherited

I am trying to determine the value of mineral rights I inherited when my parents passed (at the time of their passing - my last parent passed December 2004). There were no operating wells or leases in place at the time I acquired these mineral rights. Since that time, wells have been drilled and several commodities are being produced. The wells are located in Duchesne County Utah. I am asking to get a general ideal on taxable amount should I sell. I have been told it is the price per barrel when acquired verses the price when sale occurs, should I sell my rights. But I’m thinking gas would be a consideration as well. Any help is appreciated. I’ve searched online and only achieved a higher level of confusion!

2 Likes

Disclaimer- I’m not a lawyer or CPA, but my experience tells me your basis is zero so you would owe capital gains on 100% of your sales price. Good luck.

2 Likes

If your parents also gained ownership of that mineral interest through inheritance I expect Todd’s opinion on a zero basis is right, but you might try to pin down when and how your parents acquired that interest.

If you determine they bought it, then I think your basis should be at least as high as their basis was in those minerals, meaning the price they paid for them. If your parents acquired the mineral interest along with the surface interest then their total purchase price would need to be allocated between surface and minerals on some basis.

If you’ve done some reading you’ve probably seen discussion of the “step up in basis” that occurs at the time of inheritance. My understanding, which you’d definitely need to confirm with a CPA or tax attorney, is that the IRS leaves establishing the basis value up to the individual. But that value is definitely subject to challenge, and if IRS audit determines an unreasonable basis amount was used that resulted in underpayment of taxes then penalties and interest are applied.