How long does Fracking take

Be kind now, I am still learning. I have two wells that have been shut down for 2-3 months now, was told it was for fracking nearby new wells. It has been this period and I can find no evidence of any nearby wells even been drilled, let alone any fracking. How long does it take to frack a well anyway?

Hi Don :). Completely legitimate question! It really depends on where you are. “Nearby” these days could mean almost 3 miles away as the crow flies, wellhead to your land. Where is your acreage?

As for length of time, a frac could take 20 minutes to perform (conventional, 2000’ deep vertical wells with a single frac) or could take a couple months. The longest scenario I can reasonably think of is a pad of wells with about 30 wells in various stages of being drilled and completed. The rule of thumb I’d generally use would be any well within a ~1 mile radius of the lateral being frac’d should be shut in to maximize pressure downhole and to avoid any surface leaks if a well gains any pressure from the offset frac.

A very long well with a very complex completion and a slow crew…maybe 2 weeks per well. I’d say a week is more average, but technology is always trying to remove steps to make it closer to 2-3 days.

So then if you had a bunch of wells all in stages of being completed and drilled and they all had week-long fracs…that’s how you start to get into counting in months. These are all ideal cases though. Ultimately what slows down the timeline the most is when some operational issue happens mid-frac and the well needs repaired (or even redrilled) before fracking can continue. I can’t imagine having a well shut in for more than 6 months for even this extreme case though.