How do I acquire a mineral title opinion if I am not currently in possession of one?

I have been approached by a landman concerning an oil & gas lease that I am possibly the mineral rights holder, due to a relative that is deceased. How do I find out if (in fact), I am the mineral rights holder?

First step would be to go the courthouse and see if you can research the ownership on the block(s) in question. Not an easy thing to do if you aren't familiar with the process / terminology et al.

Some counties have data on line (usually for a fee)

Of course, you can always hire a land broker to do this for you - but that can get costly quick.

Have to figure that the landman / his company have already run title to find out all the mineral owners.

Hi Quinton, I am a land broker and yes it can get expensive depending on where your minerals are located and how many mineral transactions took place before your family purchased the minerals. If your minerals are in Oklahoma I would be glad to discuss what it would take to run your minerals. Most times the oil company that is drilling or leasing has already run your minerals and most of the time they are correct in their numbers. I would not recommend spending the money on having them run unless you think their numbers are incorrect or they are saying there is a title problem. I have ran into some cases where they were incorrect, but not often. Hope this helps.

Quintin, I’m a CPL AAPL Landman. Get the complete legal description and name of the party through which you may be an heir. Ask where there is a legal instrument causing him to believe you are an heir, ie a probate, affidavit of heirship, etc.

Once you have that information the county clerk or court clerk in particular county should be able to assist you further. Also, decedent’s date of death and county. Since this Landman wants to lease your purported potential interest he has a lot of info. Kindly request info above from that person. Let me know what happens.