How can I teach myself about mineral ownership?

I don’t see much discussion going on with this group. I am fairly new to this business of mineral rights ownership. My small share is with the Nix wells in Howard County. Is there a tutorial to teach me about it?

1 Like

Welcome to the oil and gas business! There are several good places to start. The Mineral Help tab above is one source. The blogs are another source. The National Association of Royalty owners is committed to teaching minerals owners. They have a Category on the site. NARO is the label. Wade Caldwell is the president of the Texas chapter. You can see quite a few comments from him that are very useful. There is a good booklet by Jim Stafford called “Look before you Lease”. The NARO headquarters used to have copies for new members. Their website is www.naro-us.org. I have also found it Amazon. Read the discussions in the counties around your county as they may have similar concerns.

Oh, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I will get started in educating myself!

Anything that I tell you is fellow rookie advice. :smiley:

NARO offers some books and resources, certainly worthwhile. Occasionally they offer a seminar in Big Spring - one last year that was worth the time.

Learn where your wells are on the TX RRC GIS map. If you know your landmarks in Howard, you may not need to find it using legal description. Once you find the well on the map, you can find out more about it by clicking the permit / API. The site has instructions. You will probably get some input about that from some of the pro guys here. If you need to use the legal description, start with the Land Office GIS map and specifically ask a follow up question about using the map. The legal description should be on your lease and on a division order.