Helping heirs sort thru offers to sell

First time poster – this looks like a wonderful forum!! I am a novice in the area of mineral rights but am trying to help some relatives who own long-ago inherited oil, gas and mineral rights in McKenzie County, ND. The rights are attached to 2 locations: Everglades Well (T152N R96W Section 10: NW/4) and Gladys Well (T152 R96W Section 9: NE/4). The relatives have seen a flurry of offers to buy their rights recently, including one offer from Southwest Energy Partners, LLC that just came in. Southwest seems to be in a hurry since they (politely) asked for a final reply in 5 days. We won’t be making that deadline but it has spurred the relatives to be more informed on the rights they own. I have some idea of how to estimate value of their holdings, based on current cash flow. I am wondering if anyone has any insights on how to factor the possibility of drilling increasing in the future. For example, I saw an excellent response to one person who had a similar question for acreage in a different oil field – that response included a map showing actual drilling and not-yet-drilled areas. If anyone has thoughts or insights on this, general or specific, would be greatly appreciated. I will be very glad to research any comments given! Thank you.

You are wise to slow down and not be rushed by any “deadline”. Anytime one gets offers to buy, the buyer knows something that the seller does not. If there is a flurry, then lots of buyers know something (and I usually hang onto my minerals since I would rather have the royalties). First offers are usually low in my experience. You need to find out if they are just buying the royalties from current wells or if they know about future wells and they hope you don’t know about them (that is their profit).

The current cash flow may not be that helpful for you since these are horizontal wells and they do not have a straight line decline.