Help with assigments/deeds to trusts

Hi, All -

This is my first post. I have two situations with which I need help with assignments to a revocable trust. The first is for a dear friend of mine, for whom I am successor trustee of her revocable trust. She's 83 years old, and has actual mineral interests in Grady, Dewey, Stephens and Love counties in Oklahoma; and Hutchinson County, TX. There are a total of six mineral deeds, all of which came from her mother many years ago. I have same in my possession, and they were all signed on 3/31/89 and then properly recorded Her present income from the mineral interests is relatively minor - a little over $6,000/year.

The other situation is my own. Although I am presently a CPA doing income tax work for the public, many years ago I worked as VP - Finance for a couple of small oil & gas companies. While so employed, I participated with very small working interests in a number of oil & gas wells. As a result, I now own producing working interests in several wells as well as a few small ORRI's, all in Oklahoma, which primarily came about due to non-participation in some increased-density wells. I'm no sure how many interests are involved, but my income from same is fairly small - about $5,300 for 2015. I think there are four payors - maybe five. In any case, I really need to get them funded into my revocable trust through assignments of same. I know I'll need to locate the original assignments in my files.

In both situations - which are different - I've thought about trying to do the mineral deeds and/or assignments myself. However, I'm not an attorney and that may not be - probably is not - advisable.

Further, I'm not sure whether I should talk to an attorney or a landman in seeking help.

Can anyone offer advice and/or help, along with some type of cost estimate of doing the work?

Thanks in advance!

Danny Payne

Hi, Danny -