Help: Section 16 3N 4W

I am very new to this, but my family (in-laws) has received an offer to purchase mineral rights to a few acres of Section 16 3N 4W. Where do I even begin to understand what we have and what the potential is of the rights.

How does one go about looking into leases and royalties etc?

I'm sure I will have more questions, but just trying to educate myself quickly here.

Best to you all,

Keith

Search the internet for "Oklahoma Royalty Owners Handbook" which is published by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission. You can download the pdf and get some good background information.

I would not sell any minerals in 3N-4W. Multiple well possibilities. Read the Q3, Q4 2016 and early 2017 investor presentations for Continental Resources, Newfield, Marathon and others to get a feel for the area. You are in the SCOOP area.

Read the Mineral Help tab above and read the Blog offerings.

Hi Keith,

Welcome to the Rodeo! I too am relatively new having inherited multiple leases in TX and OK in the last 1.5 years. I was given a great read, sort of a 101 on Gas and Oil Lease things to know, all the terms etc. that is a great place to start. It's by a Mr. John B. McFarland. You don't clearly state if the offer is to lease or buy and it looks like a buy out. I would never sell unless you have only a small amount and really don't want to be bothered. So I agree with Mr. Barnes and Mr. Weeks. Read up before you make any decision. Time is on your side and don't be rushed. There's always another offer.