Help me understand my asset

Hello Mineral owners:

I am new to this world, on December 21st, I received a letter from an attorney who represents an oil and gas company interested in leasing our 74.75 acres for vertical drilling of oil and gas.

The letter states that my net mineral intrest is 3.125% and 21% royalty interest from the production of the well.

My question is how do I determine the total value of my asset based upon the above information.

Kyle, from the small amount if info in your post, it appears that you only own 3.125% of the minerals in the 74+ acres in question. The 21% royalty would be what the company is willing to give you for royalty on any production that takes place associated with this lease and any unit this lease may be part of. You mention vertical well- has one been drilled already? Or are they talking future wells? And what about horizontal wells? These are common in parts of Fayette Co- but if the 74+ acres us part of a horizontal well unit, it will only be a fraction of a several hundred acre unit. You also have not mentioned any bonus numbers or lease term/ time frame. There is now way to to know how good any well can be but one can get an idea of potential based on historical and trend activity. A lot depends on where your acreage is located. What are the full details if what you are being offered? Do you know which company wants to lease your minerals?

Kyle: