Help in finding a lawer to help transfer mineral rights in Golden Valley ND

Can anyone suggest a good lawer / law firm that handles the Golden Valley ND Area?

We recently found out a deceased grandfather has 10 acres of mineral rights in Golden Valley.

Chesapeake contacted us about it, We filled out all the forms they required (Lease and Heirship forms) but at the last minute, Chesapeake backed out and are not going to drill at this time. However I figure it would be a good idea to go ahead and get the rights transferred into our name, since it will make it easier in the future.

We had the same issue a couple of years ago in OK, worked with the oil/gas company and they filed the Heirship paper work for us.

I called Golden Valleys Clerk & Recorder office, but they were no help and told me I had to hire a lawer to get it done.

Thanks

Gary

I am not a lawyer but the first thing i would do is file a statement of claim for those acres, it is a form you can fill out and does not require a lawyer to file..you can file it on your own and suggest that any other heirs having an interest in those acres also should file the same... actually the folks in the recorders office are very helpful whenever they can be but there are lines they can not cross as well. I would ask them where you can obtain the form and i am sure they can help you with getting it.

Thanks, I will call the recorders office on Monday.

Sure wish Cheseapeake would not have backed out, sure would have made it a lot simpler.

We didnt know Chesapeake was in GV. Which are of GV are your minerals ?
You may want to try attorny's in Dickinson ND that deal in oil and gas leases. They all are very busy but make some calls and find out who is available and has done leases in that area, so they have an idea of the market for GV.

http://http://bismarcktribune.com/news/state-and-regional/chesapeake-energy-pulling-back-won-t-honor-lease-agreements/article_89324038-5214-11e1-ba31-0019bb2963f4.html