Help, im lame at all this stuff

i unheireted 230 acres of mineral rights in grimes county, i was found by parkcrest llc, what is a fair offer if i wanted to lease, and who maybe should i speak too, this is really new to me, im a musican not a doctor lol, anyway what should i do first? do i need to file affadavit of heirship in grimes tx. first? i honestly need money but i dont want do the wrong thing, thanks

bryant:

Make sure you are listed as the mineral owner at the County Clerk office in the county where the minerals are located. Do some serious research as to the area where these minerals are located. Learn the nearest wells and their production figures. Don't be in a hurry to lease until you have a complete knowledge of the going bonus rates and % royalties for that area. Further, I would never sign a lease for over a 3 year term and would not agree to any lease extensions.

Bryant,

An affidavit of heirship might get you leased but eventually you will need "marketable title" to get paid royaltys or sell your minerals. The Landman conveniently left that part out when I leased too. It can be a real hassle getting paid once you have a producing well. You need a good independent landman or an oil and gas lawyer if you are not up to doing this on your own.

Post this in the Grimes County group, also.

Hi Bryant -

I am not an Attorney and suggest that you seek the advice of an experienced one for anything involving your mineral interests.

From my experience, the company will obtain or prepare whatever paperwork is required to clear your title as part of the preparations for the drilling of a well. They may request your assistance in doing so, but it would all be cost free to you. Before you spend any time or money in the effort, I suggest you wait and see what they do.