Heir research help needed

I am an heir to oil and gas rights in the Ellsworth District in Tyler County. I have gone to the CSSI website and found 9 separate oil and gas leases from my great-grandfather. After looking at them I still cant tell what it is that I own. These are very old leases dating from 1890 to 1916. What should my next research steps be to determine what I’m an heir to? I’m really new to this, so any help would be appreciated.

I’ve been through this myself over the last year. Very difficult job, since all the documents and oil producing companies are very old. The leases you found should tell you what percentage royalty was agreed to; you then have to divide that by the “pool” (other owners whose land/minerals were contiguous with yours), and then divide that among all the legal heirs of your ancestor. That usually winds up being a small (hundredths or thousandths) of percent royalties. You may only legally claim royalties for the last 10 years; any unpaid royalties older than that are lost by default. You’ll want to communicate with any relatives who are also heirs. You may need to hire an attorney-- but that depends on whether there’s enough potential $, since attorneys are expensive. You’ll also find very little voluntary help from the oil companies, since it’s in their interest NOT to pay out royalties unless you can prove your claim, and even then, you have to get assertive and persistent with them, since they’ll often be dismissive of your claims, especially over the telephone. I went to WV recently just for the purpose of research and found many documents that an online search missed. But, to further my efforts, I’ll probably need to make another trip. This will be a real, long-term project, should you pursue it. And, my relatives all essentially said “sure, go find us some money but don’t bother us until you do” (no good deed goes unpunished, you know). Good luck.

1 Like