Harrison County, WV - Oil & Gas Discussion archives

Harrison County, WV oil & gas discussion group. Share your experience regarding lease bonus, royalty rates, drilling activity, and oil & gas news.

I know Antero Resources is busy up in Harrison and Doddridge Counties right now. They're offering 14-15% royalties and about $1500/AC signing bonuses from what I've seen from my clients. Anybody else?

I have been contacted about leasing my mineral rights in Harrison County. Anyone have any iformation on whats going on in Harrison County and has anyone dealt with a company called XTO Energy?

I'm afraid I don't have any specific info on XTO. I know they're out there, and are a legitimate oil and gas company. When I worked as a landman one of the brokerages I worked for had them as a client. I know Antero is very busy in Harrison County as well. If you want to get somebody into a bidding war with XTO it would probably be them.

I just found this website today while trying to find information regarding oil and gas leases, particularly in Harrison County West Virginia. Several family members are apparently heirs to an oil and gas lease originated by my Great, or Great, Great Grandmother in 1899. We have been contacted by Antero Resources and sent documents to sign to modify the lease to include a "Pooling Clause", which they say must be done in order for them to include our lease in "one or more drilling units for the purposes of drilling one or more horizontal natural gas wells". Is this something we should do? I am only in touch with my brother and three first cousins involved with this lease and have no idea how many or who all the other heirs are and/or what they are or aren't doing regarding this matter or if that has any affect on what we do. Can you offer any advice?

Hi Sharon,

1899? Wow. That's the oldest existing lease I've run across. And I've been doing this oil and gas stuff for five years now.