Good idea to sell if not lease offered?

I have always been of the opinion of never selling. However, I have received an offer for 14 –2N–5W that is tempting. Is it ever a good idea to sell? I was told that there are not many leases going out and things have slowed way down. If that is correct, why are the oil companies offering to buy. Can anyone answer that and should I consider selling this?

I’m no expert, but my opinion is that unless a person urgently needs the money, it would be a mistake to sell. We never know how much it may be worth in future, and when it’s gone, it’s gone, gone, gone.

Oil went over $70/bbl Tuesday. Nat gas is over $3. Prices may be driving exploration projects.

I have received quite a few offers on sections that have one good horizontal well and the potential for more. We just ignore them as we do not have a current crisis need to sell. There are more creative ways to handle that situation if we needed to where we could take a loan against the production on the one well for a certain period of time and keep the minerals.

1 Like

Martha, leveraging an asset for a Loan, certainly divergently creative . Most Insightful. Tks John

Some of the knowledgeable banks in producing areas can do that sort of thing and there are several firms out there that do it. They essentially buy your production royalties at a certain set price for a certain amount of time and pay you upfront for the royalties. There is a “small” fee attached which is the interest for the loan. You do not lose your mineral rights or the royalty stream after the amount of time. Best to get accounting help to handle the potential taxes consequences and legal help to make sure the wording on the document is exactly as you want it to be (and you are not selling your rights). One could easily go down a dangerous path if this is not done correctly.