Getting a well

This is what we all want of course. The laws in Canada are not the same as in the US. I'm not an expert or lawyer. I only know what I've read up on, but the FHOA helps a lot. I think the Just Energy Company that uses the free hold friendly lease is the best way to try to get our minerals developed. Add to the royalties, the benefit of owning a share of the actual drilling company and things look pretty good. Don't sign with land men and other companies .

The hard part for us is we compete with the government of Canada, and "the crown" gives oil companies a "royalty- holiday" as incentive . Meaning they don't pay any royalty on the first 100,000 barrels drilled.

The royalty holiday is offered by the Canadian government on it's mineral rights. It's not required by me or you or the average civilian trying to get a lease.

It's explained better on the link I gave, but I believe it's been true for years. When we negotiate with the land men , they kind of ridicule us for trying. we have gotten concessions, like the best I ever got was 17 % royalty, 1500 dollars as the bonus, and a 3 year lease, and some of the other stuff FHOA reccomends-We don't offer a royalty holiday of course, but it shows the competition.( on 2 whole quarter sections of land.) Our hope is China and the surge in demand they will bring. The Canadian government aggressively is trying to develope it's resources, so we wait and see.

Other stuff to watch out for is how they write the lease up. Companies will drill and sell oil on their own land first, when prices are high, then go to Government leases for the holiday, and lastly they develope the leases they have on average Joe you and me, when the price of oil is lowest. That means we sell our oil for too cheep. It's all business to them, as it should be, but we need to know how they think.

Joel said:

Lori: