Finding Leases

Hello I am looking for lease information on 2 particular wells in Howard County. Is there any resources available online to find this information? I have interest in many counties and I am still learning the ropes on the O and G industry. Thanks!

Can you post some details about where your properties are located, and specifically what you want to know? There are many resources available. Some free, and many paid.

2 Miracle max wells sec17 & 26, blk31,tn2, t&p rr co., A-185 & A1061. I have a property code and ba code. Not sure what the ba code is. I would like to find a copy of lease to verify nit, api #’s, and resources to find such leases in the future. I have interest in many counties I have a membership to drilling edge but looking for more preferably free resources.

*verify NRI "…

You can find the lease by researching back through the county records. Start with your predecessor X in title and see if he granted a lease. Then look at the deed granting minerals to X, from Grantor Y and see if Y granted a lease. The lease will only provide the gross acres in which you own minerals, such as East half of Section 10 containing 320 acres. Your net mineral acres will depend on your fractional interest - 1/10 or 1/50, which will not be described in the lease. To determine your fractional interest, you need to trace back title through all predecessors and divisions among heirs and assigns. If you know the royalty rate, gross acres and well acres, you may be able to estimate the net acres. To find the wells, look at Texas RRC GIS viewer and find the sections and wells. This will give you API numbers. The well numbers and property numbers on a check stub are the oil company’s internal numbering system.

1 Like