Feedback on potential engineering nonprofit

Hi All,

I’m doing research to see if there is sufficient need and if so, where best I might focus my efforts. I’m a petroleum/reservoir engineer and would like to “use my powers for good” and provide engineering evaluation, education, and general advocacy to mineral owners who might not otherwise be able to afford such advice and valuations. This could also be providing engineering services for other nonprofit organizations (schools, churches, foundations) that have O&G revenue streams of some sort through donations and grants. I’m also female, so I would also love to focus on helping women in the industry in some way.

If it’s not a nonprofit by official standards, I’m still planning on providing these services at a high discount, but it’d be easier to sustain with the advantages of being a formal nonprofit.

1. Does anyone have any ideas of groups of types of individuals who would need this service? Or is this trying to solve a problem that doesn’t exist? (though I’m relatively sure it does, since I’ve seen many mineral owners who either have too small of assets to justify proper advice, or have undeveloped assets and therefore no income stream from it to make it worth a proper evaluation)
  2. Any topics or items that are more a concern than others?
  3. Are there any organizations that provide this already? I couldn’t find any with a google search

Thanks,

Tracy

I hope you get some good feedback. I applaud your reasoning and values.

1. Churches, families with small assets, folks who need fair market value for IRS purposes due to sales, charities who have received donations and do not have access for valuations, probate evaluations, just to name a few.

2. The questions I see the most are about IRS valuations for capital gains taxes and estate evaluations.