Failure to pay Royalties - Contango/Crescent Energy Company

Contango, now a wholly owned subsidiary of Crescent Energy Company operates several hundred wells in Payne County OK. Collecting royalties and interest due from Contango was extremely difficult, but, I’ve found it an impossibility to collect now that Contango is owned by Crescent. I have 40 years land experience, make almost weekly inquiries to the landman and DO supervisor, but with no success. I’ve had to file liens for the $60,000.00 owed to us on wells producing for almost a decade! Meanwhile, Contango/Crescent is flush with cash generated from stock sales and proceeds of mortgage to Wells Fargo for $4 Billion, but apparently, siphoning off millions owed to Oklahoma royalty owners, who, in large part are unaware due to this company’s failure to escheat to the state. Other than the liens I’ve already filed, and protesting any cause they may filed before OCC, what can be done? Should a complaint be filed with office of the Oklahoma Attorney General? A class-action lawsuit? Sunoco suffered huge punitive damages for failure to pay statutory interest, insignificant compared to this company’s actions. Any advice is appreciated.

1 Like

Have you sent certified letters return receipt? You may need them for evidence. Sounds like a class action lawsuit…

I have lots of email communications with Contango/Crescent, but, did not think to send certified letters! I know this is important, especially with the possibility of litigation, but, totally forgot! Thank you so much for responding! Your advice is always spot on!

Where are your minerals located? I’m in 19N-1W

Hi Martha!

I am in 19N-2E, 18N-1E and 18N-2E…