EOG Glacier C is ~ 1500' away from Lavender Thiede well

EOG Glacier C well Gonzales County Texas is near our family’s Lavender Thiede well, operator Penn Virginia.

I’m concerned.

Any advice on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

Is the new well a horizontal well? Is your well vertical or horizontal ?

New well is horizontal on 220 acres, my well is vertical. I am new to getting involved. My dad was David Thiede and he worked with Penn Virginia to try to get to move forward on fracing without success… yet. It seems like our operator, Penn Virginia is not acting in our best interest, but I could be wrong.

Don’t confuse the surface location with the whole well path. The wells can be rather close together and not impact (or impact) each other. Depends upon if they are in the same reservoir.

Have no idea if Penn is working in your best interest or not; but, IMHO, Penn is one of the big boys, so they will do their best to keep EOG from pumping their oil. With that said, 1500 feet is a long way from your well, so they could legally drill much closer. First, even thought the drilling rules don’t favor the mineral owner, the RRC has some set back rules to help with your concerns; but, still much less than 1500 feet. To add to this, I doubt very seriously that EOG is drilling a horizontal well on 220 acres. If they are, that is extremely rare. They may be drilling on a 220 acre surface tract; but, I suspect they have pooled other acreage so they can drill a decent lateral length.

according to rail road commission our Penn virginia wells are horizontal wells but are not active - if the legend and icons are correct

also it appears that the EOG well runs south through non-EOG owned properties but not north - the location of our wells, so perhaps it isn’t as bad as I think

EOG well value is an estimated “$3+ million per month for an 5 percent interest owner” and ~ 1300 feet away our well is bringing in a few thousand a month - per ShaleXP