Elbert County, CO - Oil & Gas Discussion archives

Oil & gas discussion group for those interested in Elbert County, CO. Share your experience regarding lease bonus, royalty rates, drilling activity, and oil & gas news.

http://www.niobraranews.net is a good link for current information on the Niobrara Play, particularly Weld County. Has anyone seen any activity in Elbert County yet for seismic testing?

Is there anyone out there that has been offered a mineral lease in Elbert, County? I have been contacted and the offer is 100 per acre for 8yrs with 16% royalty. Is this a fair offer. I am new at this and have no idea what is a fair offer.

Janet,

Depends on the area and how many acres you have. It sounds as if you are further east in the county. The 8 year term is high, bonus and royalty sound low, but depends on what others are getting in your area. But, along with terms, you should look into getting protection provisions written into a lease to protect your surface and potentially your water, protect your rights, and maximize your assets. If you can, check around your area to find out what others have been offered.

Debbie

I recently was contacted by a landman for Chesapeake. I live on the county line between Elbert an Arapahoe east of Sun Country. I was offered a 3+3 lease with protection written in for water and surface rights. I see a lot of comment here about lawsuits against Chesapeake, but thus far, my interaction with them has been good. I would definitely advise getting an oil & gas attorney to review anything you receive. if you need a local attorney, I can pass the name on.

Just joined as a new member and future possible resident of Elbert County. Living presently in Texas where Eagle Ford Shale is booming. In this area, with a good oil/gas attorney, folks are signing 3 year leases with NO option for additional lease years on the same lease. Sure wish we were already living in your county. It's over 102 here everyday!