Duchesne County Utah OIl & Gas Leasing

Like many others coming to this forum, I am a newbie to this whole matter of mineral rights. I was contacted by a landman on El Paso letterhead regarding mineral rights I hold in Duchesne County Utah. I have literally spent hours searching the internet to find any and all information that I can regarding this matter. From what I gather, there is considerable activity in the area and by looking at production maps, there seems to be active wells all around my parcel. I have almost 3 acres in Township 3 South, Range 2 West, USM. I did a quick search and found the latitude to be 40.21724 and longitude -110.52155. The landman seemed to be offering a lease at $100/acre with a 1/6 royalty with a 5 year term. So, what do I do now? It seemed logical to try to determine if there is current oil production in the vicinity or adjacent (of course) and the extent of the production there. I feel like a dummie as I don’t have a clue as to what to do. That is what brought me to this fine forum, which is a wonderful resource for the type of information that I am seeking. I guess one simple question I might have is whether anyone else is familiar with the geography that I have mentioned or has some thoughts as to what steps I should take from this point going forward. Thanks in advance for any assistance that can be provided. Best regards to all.

Rick: