Do I have a right to royalties? Existing Lease on Purchased Land

I’m in the process of purchasing a parcel in the southern ute reserve, near Ignacio, where Red Willow is currently active. Purchase and sale agreement has been signed.

The previous owner has a lease agreement with red willow for compensation of $1200 a year, no end date on the lease. I’m no oil expert, but I know that that’s way too low for compensation. No royalties have even been determined in the past.

My question is, once I acquire the parcel, how likely is it that I can any type of royalty agreement/will I have a right to any?

Also, how do I know if the current owner even owns the mineral/subsurface rights? I called county and they have no record of a separation in the past.

Any advice is appreciated.

Most likely the lease is still in the primary term and hasn’t been drilled yet. $1,200/year might be very reasonable for annual rentals, depending on the acreage involved. Your purchase of the property will not necessarily include the mineral rights. Your Purchase and Sale Agreement will specify whether or not you are buying the mineral estate along with the surface. Many times the seller will reserve the minerals. If Red Willow is paying them lease payments, you can be pretty confident the they own something. The Company will have done their homework before paying anything out.