Division Orders decimal percentage

Let me start by saying Im very new to this process, my brother & I inherited my mothers mineral royalties a year ago. My question is regarding decimal percentage of my mineral interest. I currently receive royalties on one (1) well, 6 more wells have been drilled and are in production since may 2022, its been a long process but the title work is complete and DO’s will be sent out in the next week or so according to the Laredo petroleum, who is leasing the land. I was able to get some info from them prior to DO and they state that my decimal interest will less in regards to these new wells. Does this seem correct? Why wouldn’t it be the same as my current interest? Maybe there is an obvious answer and if someone could shed light on my situation that would be great. I’m nervous to sign anything until I get some clarification. thank you!!

The decimal interest depends upon the net acres, the royalty and the spaced acres and what perforations are assigned. If you have a larger spacing on these wells than the first one, then the net acres are divided by a larger denominator. Also, the first well could have had more perforations allocated to it and the other wells have less perforations in your acreage. Very common for subsequent wells to be different.

1 Like

thank you so much for the clarification, your knowledge in these matters are much appreciated!

If you post your abstract location, one of the Texas folks may be able to show you a map view of the wells so you can see the difference.

someone did but I didn’t fully understand how the DO’s were figured out…(still don’t fully understand…lol) listed our lease: all of W/2 section 41 block 3, T-I-N, T&P Ry,Co. Survey

existing well name is Leech 32-44

The bottom line IMO is you should be able to figure out exactly what your decimal is. In every well. Assuming you know what you own and take a look at the permit and/or DO.