"divesting of royalties of insignificant size."

As with many of you, I inherited-which is where the similarity may end-a slew of Royalty Interests in Reagan County, TX. According to Pritchard and Abbott, I have 54 leases in Reagan County totaling $1,880 in taxable value. Of course, I have been receiving solicitations to sell, since my Mom died in 2006. But, more recently, I have been receiving 5-figure offers with fairly specific details about the ownership responsibilities they would like to relieve me of. And, I am at a time of life when a big check would go a long way towards relieving me of things like heavy dental bills, and aggravating home-maintenance costs.

Just for the sake of full disclosure, I should probably mention that in the intervening years since my inheritance became official, I have been pretty oblivious to reading a check stub, or even signing and mailing division orders. Why should I waste a stamp on the possibility of a $5.60 check every year?

But, with these 5-figure offers, I have suddenly become very interested in the oil and gas business, if only to get myself out of it. So, I have been scouring websites, and using the apps, and getting at least a little bit more informed as to what's going on. One of my tinier interests is a lease/well that was recently completed, and has produced over 100,000 barrels in the last 9 months, from what the RRC tells me.