Deadline to sign lease?

First, let me say this forum is an incredible resource, and I really appreciate that it, and it's members, are here.

I was recently contacted by Diamond Resources, representing Continental. I own 5 acres of mineral rights in T160N, R94W, Section 18. Based on my research (which is somewhat difficult, given I am new to this and my knowledge is very limited), the mineral rights are part of a 1280 acre unit, on which there is a single operating well, BARMOEN 1-18H.

Diamond wants me to lease to Continental (through Diamond) at 20% royalties, and $1000/acre bonus. I have a couple of questions...I'm hoping those of you here who have a LOT more experience can maybe help out.

1. Diamond included with the lease a "draft check" that expires in 30 days (the check is for the lease bonus - $5000), and Diamond has referred to this deadline for getting the lease signed. I know that there are some situations where a person who doesn't sign a lease can inadvertently become a non-working owner or something, at 16% royalties and deductions for operating costs. Is the deadline for signing this lease with Diamond the same as the "non-working owner" situation? Are there repercussions if I don't sign this lease by Diamond's deadline? I am trying to learn as much as I can before signing something so important as a mineral lease.

2. Diamond has repeatedly told me that they aren't able to "capture" the natural gas coming out of the well, but when I looked at a NDIC monthly report, of the 3800 units of gas produced, 3700 were "Sold". I'm having trouble understanding why Diamond is saying this about the gas production.