Current Leasing Value

We have been approached to lease some acreage in Martin County but not sure what is the going price per mineral net acre. Does anyone feel like sharing information??

Hi Jennifer -

It varies by Lessee and location of course, but I have heard parts of the area referred to as the Martin County Stack, so there is activity going on here. I’ve seen offers ranging from $3500 NMA to $10500 NMA. Do you own surface acreage also? Sometimes the larger your NMA the larger your negotiating power.

Have a great day! Lana

The interesting thing is this: its a closed well that they want to release; I have also found that there is a proposed horizontal well that they seem to want to drill in the near future; truthfully the NMA is small but I want to be able to get a fair price which is actually in the middle of the values you gave. It is in the NW part of the County.

Where is the Martin County Stack??

I’m not a reservoir engineer, but I’ve heard talk that it is in the southern part of the county.

I’ve seen that before - they want to negotiate with you on the acreage so that they can in turn be a part of the horizontal well - which will ultimately benefit you. I have heard that some development is happening in the NW part of the county soon, especially in the Knott area.

I’d have to look on the map to see where Knott is, lol. Like I said the acreage is small but with those kind of possible offers, we would be dumb NOT to want the highest available, right??

That’s why you need to understand what you have and what is going on around you. Research and understanding is the key to getting the most value from your minerals. What you have may seem small, but remember this - you cannot buy mineral interests at Walmart - and a small mineral interest could turn into healthy mailbox money. Don’t be afraid to negotiate - the worst thing they can say is no - and if you don’t ask they already said no.

1 Like