Correct wording in a mineral interest sale deed I'm asked to sign. Any advice?

I’m currently selling some mineral rights I own and after receiving the deed in the mail today, I’m wondering why it does not state anywhere what I’m selling the the interest for. It doesn’t state the per net mineral acre price or the total sale price. When I asked the gentleman handling this sale why this was, he responded that the deed states: “for and in consideration of the sum of Ten and More Dollars, cash in hand paid and other good and valuable considerations” He said this is standard language for a mineral deed. Is he correct? Or should I ask for something that mentions the exact pricing etc? I’m new to this and have not sold any mineral interests before. Thank you for any help you can give.

From my understanding the "mineral deed" is what gets filed. I think there are other papers to sign that outlines prices, the detailed location of property, amount of mineral acres and total due to you.

Hello Urrisa, please add me as a friend if you would like to determine if you're getting a fair price for your minerals. We can perform a fair market valuation of your minerals in under a week.

In general, legal conveyance documents do not mention the sales price exactly to protect the privacy of the parties to the transaction. In the case of a mineral sale, the county will collect a mineral deed tax (Oklahoma documentary stamp tax) based upon $0.75 tax per $500.00 of sales price. You can look at the mineral tax amount and determine the sales price. However, privacy is still protected by not always spelling out exactly how many acres the buyer and seller think are involved. (Even if you can back-calculate the sales price, you will not necessarily see the net mineral acres spelled out.) The exact number of net mineral acres may not be exactly known until a title opinion has been received from a lawyer.

Thanks Tom

Thank you for the info.