Converse County, WY - Oil & Gas Discussion archives

Oil & gas discussion group for those interested in Converse County, WY. Share your experience regarding lease bonus, royalty rates, drilling activity, and oil & gas news.

My family owns 2553.86 mineral acres in North Eastern, Converse County Wyoming; Chesapeake Oil has about half of it leased, the other half was leased by Red River oil, this lease expired on March 1st 2011; I contacted Chesapeake about leasing the other half and they told me they were not concentrating on that area right now; but, would consider our terms if we sent them in; however I am new to mineral leasing and have no idea what terms to offer. I also contacted Mack Energy but they also said they were not actively seeking leases in our area, but, would keep my information in case they do later. So how do I give Chesapeake terms if I can't find any current offers in my area? I thought they would put something on the table, especially as much activity is going on in Converse County, and we could go from there. Also does anyone know of any other company's that are leasing in North Eastern Converse County?

Thanks; Fred

Fred what I've seen is Chesapeake actively leasing around Douglas, and also south / sw of Bill. As to sending them your terms; What they're saying is; If you asked for $25/$50 per acre they may lease you now (even though you're outside their area of focus). If you ask for $500 they'll just ignore it.

So I suspect patience is probably your best bet. There are two dozen drilling permits across 36N- 70W & 71W alone, and more across the general area. If they start drilling and hitting wells there, it is possible they may expand their area of interest towards you.