Confidential well

There is a confidential well in our area that we can’t get any info on does anyone know why they have these or why they hold the money in the bank, it has been producing since January? Please help

Yes. They don't want anyone to know how much the well is producing. They should pay royalties eventually as is required by the terms of the leases.

So it must be producing well then, our lease was up in may son do they still have to follow that?

Well, let's take it from the top. You called it a well, not a dry hole.

Have someone go out there and scope it out. Look for trucks going in and out. Signs on the fence designating a well. Something flaring?

If it is a producing well, they will be required to pay you royalties pursuant to the terms of the lease.

Others here might pump you for more info. and help you with some research. I work for a living, and don't have time to do the research, but if I can offer help based on the facts presented, I will try to do so.

Thanks I’m not sure what a dry hole is but I’m looking in to it

Okay. Here is the definition. Ask yourself why they drilled? Why do they hire landmen? Why do they make offers for oil & gas leases? They want to drill a well and produce oil, gas, or both.

A dry hole means that they come up empty. No hydrocarbons. No oil or gas found in producing quantities.

Or just mud and water. Hence, "dry hole". Maybe what you meant originally is that they drilled a well, and no one around there knows what it actually did, or if it is producing.

You also wrote that it has been producing since Jan.

Dave Quincy said:

Saving…

Dave, Rebecca is ground zero Bakken. I see two wells recently spud in addition to her well that started producing in 2009 and has produced almost 240k bbl oil and has not needed a pump yet. Operator is Burlington Resources/ Conoco Phillips There is a permit that would be for a fourth well that is not yet spud.

If there is a dry hole it's not for lack of oil.