Comstock-eagle ford and strips & gores

Anyone ever heard of this?

Members of my family inherited some small mineral interests in McMullen County going back 75 years. We negotiated a three year lease for them with Comstock after they approached us. They paid us around $25K in bonus money (collectively) and the leases were executed in May, 2012.

In August 2012 we received an email from their landman saying they had made a mistake, were invalidating the leases based on a determination by their title examiner, and would get back to us within a week for a conference call as well as submit a copy of the examiners reort. That was August 6th, and now they have simply shut down. We do not get the courtesy of any response. They did say we could keep the bonus money.

I am very uncomfortable with a company that makes such a determination without support, by email, and then trots off to do as they please. I am not an expert in Texas law, but as a former title examiner in Illinois, I am not unfamiliar.

Any suggestions on how to proceed? I don't know if this is worth an attortney or not. Still, I'm not happy to be ignored. My thanks in advance.

J S Morgan said:

Happens regularly, unfortunately across the country. Cool you get to keep the money. That probably means it was just a fuzzy title chain. They didn't feel confident drilling with the docs they had with your family. I they signed the wrong family and were mislead, they could probably get it back. I wrote about this in some older posts.

You probably should lawyer up incase you have title clean up to do. And get a professional set of eyes of the lease doc. But if there is a screw up where they picked up the wrong land, then I don't think you will get anyone to believe that $25k and the chance to lease again to another company doesn't "make you whole again".

Thank you Mr. Morgan. I appreciate the information. Here's a portion of the email we all received: