Cimarex Oil company

Has anyone heard of a Oil Company not expecting a Affidavit of Heirship?

Not sure I understand your question … “expecting”? You mean not recognizing, not accepting an AoH? Did you question your Division Order Analyst, how did they explain it?

I’ve heard of operator not wanting to rely on Affidavit of Heirship if such AoH was recorded in county records less than five years, because an AoH is inferior to a probated will, AoH can be prepared by self-serving insider, possilby challenged by surprise claimant. In such cases, expect owner to record some other type probate doc in the county records.

I’m not a lawyer, would be nice to hear attorney perspective.

I’am a Heir and I have filed 3 Affidavit’s Of Heirship; Cimarex Oil Co will not expect them, AOH was prepared by a lawyer and filed months ago

Lawyers might offer insight if you retitle your post “Affidavit of Heirship”, or start a new post with Affidavit of Heirship in title.

If you paid a lawyer to prepare/file your AoH, call and tell him/her what Cimarex said.

What did Cimarex DO Analyst say? That Cimarex doesn’t want to rely on AoH recorded recently (less than five years)? Did they tell you to obtain some intestate succession documents from the county(ies) of death, and file them in the county where your well is located?

Usually an Affidavit of Heirship will only be accepted after 9 years of the decedents death, before hand they prefer the estate to be probated. An issue i have run into is that if there is a lot of money coming to a property the operator will not accept an affidavit of heirship because its not as concrete as a probate, now if there is minimal production/proceeds coming to a property they will usually accept an affidavit considering they wouldn’t be out to much money.

1 Like

It has been well over 9 yrs of my grandfathers death.