Chesepeake/RedSky Land

Tusc. co. Ohio been approached my a landman for mineral rights. They are looking for multiple parcels for the Utica shale deposit. We have about 35 acres that is available for lease. They are offering $1000.00 per acre and 1/8 royalties. Im really new to this and want to get the best deal possible. Im assuming the first offer isnt the best offer?? Can you counteroffer like buying a car or house.....?

Thanks!

Tamara:

You control your own mineral rights so you can negotiate with anyone until a lease is signed. If you want to do some research about the going rates in your area, you can try to contact persons in the area whom have recently leased their minerals. Just be sure to watch the length of lease and the % royalty along with the $/acre bonus. If you will scan over this forum, there are posts which deal with lease negotiations and you might pick up some ideas.

Thanks…I have been scanning these posts…Every area of the country has such different resources its like comparing apples to oranges…As for neighbors, there are a few I can contact that may give me information…but some have not signed. They are holding out for a better offer. The first offer is 10 yrs, $1000 per acre and 1/8 percent. We are considering it…thanks!

Tamara:

The $1000/bonus sounds good but the 10 years and 1/8 royalty does not. I would not tie my minerals up for longer than five years or less and I would have to research the going royalty rate for your area. I don't know where your minerals are located so I really can't say if 1/8 is fair for the area. I would recommend you do some research on all of this before signing a lease.

Tamara said: