Canadian County section 23-11N-06W

I currently have a 3/16 royalty agreement on an acreage and was recently contacted by a company offering a $6,500/acre to purchase the mineral rights. I have little idea on whether this is a fair price or what concerns I should have. I am considering building a house on the land and will need to drill a water well.

This is my first post on this site, so forgive my ignorance.

Lee: Welcome to the group. Prices range wildly especially in your area. Without knowing more it sounds a little on the low side. You did not mention whether you were receiving royalties yet. It also sounds like you may have substantial acreage, if so and if you are determined to sell, you might want to consider holding on to some of the minerals.

Get ready for lots of comments, there is a reasonable bias to hold onto the mineral rights.

1 Like

Thank you for the greeting! There is so much to this topic that it makes my head swim. I’ve been receiving royalties for 5 years. They were pretty good at first and have tapered off to not much the last couple of years.

Thee are increased density applications or orders all around you. Consider hangin on. There is already one well in the section. They positioned it with room for more.

If they have a pad, it is usually at the very north edge or very south edge of the section and at least 200 feet away from a house. Water well would be very shallow compared to the deep horizontals. No interference as they are totally different zones.

1 Like

Thank you for the insight.

We received 3 or 4 increased density forms in the mail. We didn’t know what to do with them. I take it that is a good thing?