Can royalties from the same Section and the same company be set at different levels for each well?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this whole thing of mineral rights. My grandfather gave me his rights in 1983.

I have partial rights for the NE/4 of 4-19N-3W and Kirkpatrick Oil Company has 4 wells in this section. I am getting 3/16 for the one well that is on my property and 1/8 for the other 3 wells in the south end of the Section. Does this sound right? (I have not signed the Division Orders yet)

I was told that this was based on the 1940 Warranty Deed that explains that the 1/4 royalty rights kept by my Great Grandmother is:

"...and assigns forever an undivided one-fourth interest in and to the royalty (the ordinary one-eighth ordinarily left the grantor in oil and gas leases being the royalty above referred to) produced under any oil and gas lease now on said premises..."

I was told that the "Title Review" document stated that this is being interpreted "literally" meaning that It was agree back in 1940 that the fraction would be 1/8 forever. Does this sound right? (I have not signed the Division Orders yet)

Looking towards the future with you,

Rob

Does it sound right that you have two different royalty fractions for two different parts of the section? It's certain plausible, yes. You didn't mention when the wells from which you receive royalties went into production or who signed that Lease or Leases. I am going to guess that these wells were in production before you got the minerals in 1983. In fact, I am going to guess that these wells have been in production from before 1940, and have been producing since then (I did some time in Venango County, so I know that there are some very old wells in that area, one that I researched had been producing since 1890).