Can a Texas Lawyer Help Me?

My wife and I have just inherited deed to 149.2 acres in Texas. We just paid for a survey and it came back as only 109 acres. The deed includes 50% mineral ownership on 149.2 acres and is leased and a brand new very highly productive gas well just started producing in our pool. My father-in-law purchased the land 1975. From what I can tell a 278 acre tract of land was sold on the back side of the property in 1978 that encroached onto his back 40 acres of land. It is mostly wooded and not fenced even to this day. In the mid 1990s three long skinny land locked tracts that have no access rights were sold on the back side of the 109 acres. They were 2 10 acre tracs and a 3 acre tract that ran all along the back fence and cut his land down to 109 acres.

I know the problem with doing anything about this is, it is all well passed the Texas limit of 25 years for adverse possesion. Probably nothing can be done, but I am no expert on this and think maybe a lawyer could if nothing else tell me where this all went wrong and make sure my understanding of this is correct. As per my limited undestanding the 25 year limit only applys if the adverse possesion has been paying taxes on the land. From waht I can tell, the three tracts on the fence line are all having taxes on them. We /My father-in-law are paying property taxes too so it is being double taxed. But from waht I can tell, the people behind these 3 tracts have possesion to much more land than they have deed to and are not paying taxes on all the land they are in possesion of. Of course this is all based on my own research and limited knowledge. Essentially the people back behind us have free and untaxed land while the land they sold off (our land) is being double taxed.

Could a lawyer do anything about this?