Books and resources for Oil & Gas Mineral Owners

Ok newbie here. I have ordered some of the books Kenny has is a locked post. Is there any other books y’all would recommend for someone trying to learn all the terminology?

Not knowing which ones you have already ordered makes answering a bit difficult. List the titles and we can fill in with some more unless you have the best already. What areas are you interested in?

What area of oil and gas are you wanting to learn more about? For most mineral owners, I’d probably say Oil & Gas Law in a Nutshell by John Lowe is the best starting point. If you’re just wanting some quick help with terminology, a useful online source is the Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary. It gets a little more technical than what you may be looking for, though. Finally, this forum itself contains a wealth of free knowledge. Doing some searches or just browsing around may lead you to what you’re looking for. Best of luck!

Money in the ground by John orban I have ordered and should be in tomorrow. I ve read “investing in oil and gas” by mike may. And currently reading “negotiating oil and gas leases“ by Mike may. I got “look before you lease” from Naro on my list to order.

I will add the oil and gas law in a nutshell to my list. An add the website to my bookmarks to CEO’s reference terms I see on here. Thank you

Those are on my bookshelf. What states are you in? Oklahoma has some booklets particular to them on the OCC main website. I also have the books by Marsha Brazeale for Texas. She is on the forum. Her books were advertised at the NARO convention and they have been helpful.

I am in Illinois and that’s where the lease is at too.

Check your Illinois oil and gas commission as they may have booklets or suggestions pertinent to Illinois.

Thank you @M_Barnes and @CTucker for the information.

Recent copy of Black’s law dictionary