Billing County, ND

Anyone have a recommendation for a landman in Billings County, ND? We have been contacted by Empire Oil that Whiting Oil has prepared a Title Opinion on Section 1, T139, R100 which is pooled with Section 12. Drilling has begun. Our family has a discrepancy with the total mineral acres the Title Opinion has found belong to our family. I am new to this. Would someone be able to tell me how an Abstract is obtained? Is a Land man the correct resource?

I recommend you contact a title company.

Title company is a good suggestion, however, it would be perhaps less expensive to call the Billings County Clerk & Recorder in Dickinson and ask them for the contact info. for someone who is there everyday to research their title records. Once you get the record on your property you can correct the misinformation yourself.

Jerome, I see your point about using someone who is there every day, if you could get a clerk to recommend someone. I would recommend a title company because they have a set location, probably been there for years and will probably be there for many more. I think Jill needs more than a quick look if she thinks she has more acres than she is being credited with and I think someone who will continue to be in the area years from now will do the best job.

I believe the discrepancy is the wording in the conveyances. At least one of them conveys a percentage of acres of a Tract within the Section instead of specifying the exact number of Acres conveyed. The “Intent” of acres conveyed per the Title Opinion, I believe, isn’t correct.

Getting the records would be the first step. We would still need to have a Title run (or an Abstract, not sure if these are the same thing) that would give us solid proof of the families accurate total. A Title Company would be able to provide accurately accounted mineral acre ownership?