Any information on this area would be appreciated!

I recently inherited mineral rights in Ellis County, OK, Section 2-16N-24W, also known as Dunn 2-A. I am very new to this so would like to know if anyone knows what is going on in that area. It was my understanding that Samson Resources transferred the lease to Fairway Resources and we have not received a (small) royalty check since that happened. I was approached by someone who is with Firethorn Holdings, LLC, and they were looking to buy up leases in that area. I was told that there is little production going on there does anyone have information on this?

The section 12 catty corner to you has about about five horizontal wells. Section 3 has two horizontal wells. 36 to the north of you has two horizontal wells. That is probably why you are getting offers.
Dunn 2A did not have much production between mid 2014 until late in 2017. So they may not have much royalty to give out if any.

Thank you very much for that information! This inheritance was totally unexpected and it’s not my area of expertise so am trying to educate myself. I appreciate you responding so quickly!

In my experience, any time someone approaches me to buy my minerals, they know something I don’t know and they are pretty certain they are going to make a profit. I would rather make that profit, so am patient and try to find out as much as possible and wait for it for our family. There are times to sell for certain reasons, but I get lots more information before considering it.

Mr. Barnes I don’t think she is talking about Firethorn buying the minerals. I think I if I am understanding her correctly that firethorn is “buying” Leases. Is this correct @ikauffman60?