Antero Resources - Modification of an Oil & Gas lease

Hello all, my name is Charlie. I live in Weston, Lewis County WV, and like many of you in Doddridge County, I received a very surprising letter in the mail from Antero Resources.

A “modification of an Oil & Gas lease”. No one in the family even knew my grandfather, and his brothers owned mineral rights. Not even my grandfathers executor (my aunt) knew about it. Or so claims she didn’t know.

My grandpa passed in 2007. Along comes July 2013 and I recieve this letter from Antero. As did my sister, and two other grandchildren in the family. I worked in the oilfield, so I understood this could possibly be very good for everyone.

My mother, sister, and I take the documents into the Antero office in Clarksburg, ask a few pointed questions, and sign the lease. As I commonly see on this forum, the lease agreement was for a “Pooling Clause”. I believe it was called?

Time went on, and we all basically forgot about it. Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, and a family member visits my mother to inform her the taxes are due on the mineral rights we own in Dod Co. He was worried we’d possibly lose it on the Courthouse steps, and said to contact him with an offer if we’d like to sell. He also owns MRs in the same area.

So that got me curious again. Why hadn’t I heard anything back from Antero? After all they sent the lease papers to the wrong mailing address. We signed in July 2013, it’s nearly April 2019 now. Is the lease still active? Did they ever do any “pooling” from our tract? Why haven’t I recieved any tax bills? And who’s been paying the taxes this whole time?

SO. MANY. QUESTIONS. It hurts my head.

Here’s some background information… Our mineral interest is located in the New Milton area, near Webley Fork. It was drilled on back in the early 60s, and I think those wells are now shut down. According to the Antero lease, it’s 50 acres (more or less).