After Probate

I had inherited some mineral right from my father and am in the process of getting them into my name. There are 4 Producing wells on the property and there are some funds being held for the unleased owners of some of the mineral rights which can't be released until the probate is finished. My question is, what happens once the probate is completed and the title is in my name? do I still received some compensation from these companies? Are there any other benefits? Any help is appreciated. Thank you

Compensation? Why would you expect any compensation?

I am confused. It sounds to me like the poster inherited mineral rights, which are currently producing. It would seem logical that he would "inherit" the income from the royalties. Is this not correct? I am also very new to this, so please forgive me if I am way off base.

Melissa, That would be correct. They should also be entitled to any funds being held. I don’t understand the compensation part. It is possible in some states some interest may be due.

I assumed the term "compensation" was used loosely to cover any monies due....that is where my confusion started!

Rick Howell said:

Melissa,
That would be correct. They should also be entitled to any funds being held. I don't understand the compensation part. It is possible in some states some interest may be due.

Paul, after probate is completed with the court, and the proper documents conveying the minerals have been recorded in the county courthouse, you have one more step to take. You then must notify the company producing those minerals of this change in ownership. Along with your letter informing them, you need to include a certified copy of the recorded deed from your Dad's estate to you.