Affidavits of Death and Heirship - Next Steps

Hello. I am brand new to all this. I recently completed the affidavits of death and heirship. I got them filed with the county. I am ready to send to the energy company to review interest and title. Should I include anything specific in my letter to the energy company? Should I ask for interests, if applicable? Should I send the letter certified mail? Do I send the originals or copies of the affidavits of death and heirship? What usually happens next? How long does it take to hear something from the energy company? I appreciate any info you can provide. Thanks.

If you have an owner number (are you doing this to release royalty proceeds) include that. I would keep the originals and send them copies as long as those copies show the recording information. Nothing in particular to add to your letter, just make sur it references your name or the owner name they are showing, or the name of the person the heirship affidavit addresses. Also if there is a lease in place, give them the lease information, or whatever reference they are using to talk to you. Not really any need to send certified. They will review the heirship affidavits in house and let you know if it satisfies their request or if you need to furnish additional information. Time-wise it could be as little as a week, or it could be 4-6 weeks depending upon the company and how well they are staffed, but know that in today’s times everyone is pretty much understaffed.

1 Like

It might expedite payment if you send them a W-9 form too.

2 Likes

Several issues. First, is whether affidavit of heirship was correct procedure–did decedent leave a Will. Second, to confirm the correct heirs are set forth–assuming decedent died intestate, you should have an attorney licensed in the state in which the mineral interests are located to determine if correct heirs are set forth.

2 Likes