Abandoned royalty interest in Texas

Can ownership in a royalty estate be abandoned and acquired by another person other than by conveyance?

What I want to know is, can ownership in a mineral estate be sold, transferred, or some other way acquired by another person when the record owner has no address and there has been no communication with them?

Last known payments were in 1982. I’m a descendant of the prior owner and just recently discovered the royalty interest and found that the current record owner took possession in 2012. There are no recorded documents in the county records for the current owner. Any thoughts?

What do you mean by royalty estate? Is this minerals? Or an overriding royalty interest in a lease or a well? Or an NPRI?

Sorry, I’m probably not using the correct terminology, I’m still new to this.

My grandmother was receiving royalty payments from production of two oil wells as late as 1982. When she died it was supposed to be transferred to my grandfather but the transfer wasn’t completed correctly with the gatherer. Her name was still listed as owner up until 2012. From 1997-2012 the records show no address with the county assessor or the appraisal company. No record of unclaimed funds in her name in Texas or Florida where she lived at the time. In 2012 she was removed from the paydeck and another person added, same first and middle name. No documents are recorded in the county in this person’s name. I’m fairly certain its a case of fraud but first I’m trying to determine if the gap from 1982-2012 could have resulted in the royalty interest being deemed abandoned or something like that.

Not sure if this answers your question about the NPRI but current production is operating under a lease signed by my family in 1955 which is when the mineral estate was initially severed.

Jeff