36-1S-3W Mineral Ownership Advice

I received a call yesterday from a person asking about buying 14 acres of mineral interests at 36-1S-3W that I just received with the passing of my mother. I am very new to this and needing any advise on this that I can get. Is there something going on in this area? It seems that there is a lot of talk on this website about companies wanting to buy mineral interest.

Yes, there is a lot of mineral buying going on right now in Carter County. If you just inherited, then slow down and do not let them rush you. In your case, you have quite a few cases at the OCC pending for horizontal drilling, pooling, etc. I would not sell if it were me. You have a nice amount of acres and the possibility of more than one horizontal well down the line. (On the flip side, could be a dud)

Casillas dropped their pending cases, but Echo has theirs pending. Rumor has it that they sold their acreage to Continental. Judging from the calls I have had from Continental wanting to buy my acreage nearby, I think they are consolidating before they drill. ( I am not selling…)

Read everything in the forum on the Carter County topic so you get caught up to date. Make sure your name and address is filed in the county clerk’s office. Has your mother’s estate been probated? (My condolences). You need to find out from the executor if your mother was receiving any royalties and if so, contact the operator and get into pay status under your name.

Thank you so much for the advice. My mother had a deed leaving the minerals to me. I was her only living child. Yes she was receiving 2 checks for royalties so I will call the number on the check stubs. You mentioned Continental, I received a letter from Continental talking about a Proposed Plan of Unitization Lexington Unit for Sections 29,30,31,32 T1 R2W and I have minerals in sections 30 & 31. Should I sign it and do you know what it is all about?