Value of mineral rights in Caddo County Ok

I'm a first time user of this forum, and hoping to find an impartial person to give me some advice. I own mineral rights in Caddo county Oklahoma, near a town of Cogar. We are presently under a lease contract, which was opened this past December. In the past three to four weeks we have been approached by a number of companies to purchase our rights. The interesting thing, is that a couple of companies have made huge offered price increases over the last two weeks. One company has gone from $1000 per acre to $3000 in a matter of two weeks. Another company has offered three times that amount. It appears that there is some kind of activity on this site, which we are not aware of. I have no experience in putting a value to something like this, and was hoping that somebody may be able to direct me in the right direction.

Could someone help me in finding values to what I have here. This is not like finding the value to a home or land, and I have idea of how to get information which I can trust.

Ken Kuhlmann

Hi Ken,

First of all, congrats on taking the time to understand the value of your minerals. You have the power in this situation so definitely shop around. In general, my advice would be to not sell unless you need the money now. Another thing that some people don't realize is that even if you sell you don't have to sell ALL of your mineral rights.