New to mineral rights ownership

Please help as I’m a newbie. I inherited several mineral rights in West Texas from my father. I have one lease that has expired. On several others, I have Division Orders but no apparent leases. Then on another one I receive JIBS and lately the expenses are far more than what is being produced. As an owner why am I paying them to produce it? I continually receive offers to purchase the mineral interests but it is a HUGE amount different than the revenue I receive.

I’m SO confused! :woman_facepalming: What am I missing? I have searched and searched to no avail on what the differences are. If you can shed some light I would be very grateful. Or point me in the direction to learn more.

@Glittergirl_TX I will try to help with some general information based on what you have posted.

Several mineral rights - If I inherited several mineral rights, my first step would be to have a professional in the industry help understand what exactly is owned and make well-informed decisions since it seems offers to purchase rights are involved.

Having DOs without leases - these could be covering producing wells drilled from old leases possibly.

Receiving JIBs implies to me you own a working interest - an interest where you pay your portion of the well costs and get a revenue associated with your working interest. Because your interest shares in the costs/expenses you are getting billed your share and it sounds like costs are more than the revenue which is the risk in owning working interest. Another point where a professional could help understand if its better for you to sell your working interest, keep it or assign it and keep an interest, or something else. There are many variables here. With offers to purchase mineral interest, those offers may be much larger for a variety of reasons. I think understanding what you own on a per property basis would be your best action here.